Feminist German Studies (formerly Women in German Yearbook) is a refereed publication presenting a wide range of feminist approaches to all aspects of German literature, culture, and language, including pedagogy. Reflecting the interdisciplinary perspectives that inform feminist German studies, each issue contains critical inquiries employing gender and other analytical categories to examine the work, history, life, literature, and arts of the German-speaking world. 

Note: Volumes prior to 2018 were published under the title Women in German Yearbook.

Submissions: We accept submissions at any time. The deadline to be considered for the next regular issue is October 31. Please submit articles via e-mail. For questions about article submissions, please e-mail the editors at fgs@womeningerman.org; for questions about book reviews, contact bookreviews@womeningerman.org 

Style GuidelinesFeminist German Studies follows the MLA Handbook, 8th edition, with some exceptions. For details, please see the style guide.
































 Feminist German Studies Volume 36.1 (Spring/Summer 2020)

To access the journal, please visit the following link: https://muse.jhu.edu/issue/42491. Link to Project Muse when assigning these articles – every click supports Women in German!

Special Issue: Collaboration in the Humanities



Editors’ Introduction
Hester Baer, Alexandra M. Hill

Grenzenlos Deutsch: Co-creating Open Educational Resources through Feminist Collaboration
Brigetta Abel, Erika Berroth, Angineh Djavadghazaryans, Maureen O. Gallagher, Adam R. King, Karolina May-Chu, Simone Pfleger, Faye Stewart, Amy D. Young

Embracing Disciplinary Trouble: Silos, Identity, and Shared Intellectual Endeavor
Muriel Cormican, Betsy Dahms, Robert Kilpatrick

It’s Still about Relevance: The Founding of a Humanities Collaborative as a Confident Response to the Humanities Crisis
Laura McLary

The Ongoing Rewards of Collaboration, Intermediality, and Multivocality In the Humanities: Reflections on the Multimedia Project Trug&Schein
K. Scott Baker, Andrew Stuart Bergerson, Laura Fahnenbruck, Deborah Parker, Benjamin Roers

How to Keep the Co(ol) in Collaboration
Sunka Simon

Collaborative Coaching to Unlock Your Full Potential
Jennifer Drake Askey

Miriam Rainer

Mapping out the “Co” in Collaborative Work: External Pressures, Institutional Responses, and Individual Affects
Katharina Gerstenberger, Margaret McCarthy

Intimate Collaborations and Feminist Gatherings: A Manifesto for a Coalitional Academy
Carrie Smith, Maria Stehle, Beverly Weber

The Language of Flowers and the (Re)productive Female Body in Hedwig Dohm’s Werde, die Du bist!
Lauren Nossett, Luca Pixner

Nikolai Chernyshevsky’s What Is to Be Done? and the Prehistory of International Marxist Feminism
Helen Stuhr-Rommereim, Mari Jarris

Notice to Contributors

Volume 35, 2019

Volume 34, 2018

Volume 33, 2017

Volume 32, 2016

Volume 31, 2015

Volume 30, 2014

Volume 29, 2013

Volume 28, 2012

Volume 27, 2011

Volume 26, 2010

Volume 25, 2009

Volume 24, 2008

Volume 23, 2007

Volume 22, 2006

Volume 21, 2005

Volume 20, 2004

Volume 19, 2003

Volume 18, 2002

Volume 17, 2001

Volume 16, 2000

Volume 15, 2000

Volume 14, 1999

Volume 13, 1997

Volume 12, 1996

Volume 11, 1995

Volume 10, 1995

Volume 9, 1994

Volume 8, 1993

Volume 7, 1991

Volume 6, 1991

Volume 5, 1989

Volume 4, 1988

Volume 3, 1986

Volume 2, 1986

Volume 1, 1985

Women in German Yearbook Editorial Staff



 Alexandra Merley Hill, University of Portland, 2018 – present

 Hester Baer, University of Maryland – College Park, 2019 – present


Past Editors:

  • Carrie Smith, 2015-2017
  • Elizabeth Ametsbichler,  2012-2015
  • Margarete Lamb-Pfaffelberger, 2012-2014
  • Patricia Simpson, 2009-2011
  • Katharina Gerstenberger, 2008-2010
  • Maggie McCarthy, 2006-2008
  • Helga Kraft, 2004-2007
  • Marjorie Gelus, 2003-2005
  • Ruth-Ellen Boetcher Joeres, 2002–2004
  • Patricia Herminghouse, 1994–2002
  • Susanne Zantop, 1998–2001
  • Sara Friedrichsmeyer, 1990–1998
  • Helen Cafferty, 1988–1990
  • Jeanette Clausen, 1987–1994
  • Edith Waldstein, 1984–1987
  • Marianne Burkhard, 1984–1988


Editorial Board Members (current):

Kyle Frackman, University of British Columbia, 2018-2020

Lisabeth Hock, Wayne State University, 2020-2022

Michelle James, Brigham Young University, 2018-2020

Sonja Klocke, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2018-2020

Ruth-Ellen Boetcher Joeres, University of Minnesota, 2004-2012, 2014-2017, 2018-2020

Margarete Lamb-Faffelberger, Lafayette College, 2015-2018, 2019-2021

Carrie Smith, University of Alberta, 2018-2020

Waltraud Maierhofer, University of Iowa, 2019-2021

Kerry Wallach, Gettysburg College, 2020-2022

Beverly Weber, University of Colorado, 2019-2021

Editorial Board Members (past):

Barbara Kosta, University of Arizona, 2017-2019; 2013-2016; 2001-2004

Elizabeth Ametsbichler, University of Montana, 2016–2018

Angelica Fenner, University of Toronto, 2016–2018

Rick McCormick, University of Minnesota, 2011-2018

Tanja Nusser, University of Cincinnati, 2010-2018; Universität Bielefeld, 2004-2010
Patricia Simpson, Montana State University 2016-2018; University of Nebraska 2012-2015
Katharina Gerstenberger, University of Utah, 2010-2017; University of Cincinatti, 2004-2007
Maggie McCarthy, Davidson College, 2008-2016
Kristie Foell, Bowling Green State University, 2012-2015
Caroline Schaumann, Emory University, 2009-2015
Patricia Herminghouse, University of Rochester, 2002-2015
Helga Kraft, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2007-2015
Monika Shafi, University of Delaware, 2006-2015
Birgit Tautz, Bowdoin College, 2009-2015
Lora Wildenthal, Rice University, 2004-2015
Catriona MacLeod,University of Pennsylvania, 2009–2012
Elizabeth R. Mittman, Michigan State University, 2004-20011
Leslie Morris, University of Minnesota, 2004-2011
Friederike Eigler, Georgetown University, 2004-2010
Marjorie Gelus, California State University, 2006-2009
Dagmar Lorenz, University of Illinois Chicago, 2006-2009
Julia Hell, University of Michigan, 2004-2007
Claudia Breger, Indiana University, 2001-2004; Universitat Paderborn 2001
Attina Grossman, Cooper Union, 2001-2004
Jeanette Clausen, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, 1995-2004
Ruth P. Dawson, University of Hawai’i at Manoa, 2001-2004
Katherine P. Goodman, Brown University, 2001-2004
Georgina Paul, University of Warwick, 2001-2004
Myra Marx Ferree, University of Wisconsin, 2001-2004
Sara Friedrichsmeyer, University of Cincinnati, 1999-2004
Katherine R. Goodman, Brown University, 2001-2004
Atina J. Grossmann, Cooper Union, 2001-2004
Ruth Klüger, University of California, Irvine, 2001-2004
Georgina Paul, University of Warwick, 2001-2004
Gisela Brinker-Gabler, SUNY Binghampton, 1992-2003
Helen R. Cafferty, Bowdoin College, 1992-2003
Susan Cocalis, University of Massachusetts Amherst, 1992-2003
Nancy Kaiser, University of Wisconsin Madison, 1998-2003
Renate Mohrmann, Universität zu Köln, 1998-2003
Arlene Teraoka, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, 1995-2002
Ricarda Schmidt, University of Manchester, England, 1992-2000
Leslie A. Adelson, Cornell University, 1992-2000
Angelika Bammer, Emory University, 1992-2000
Barbara Becker-Cantarino, Ohio State University, 1992-2000
Jeannine Blackwell, University of Kentucky, 1992-2003
Sara Lennox, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1992-2000
Inge Stephan, Humboldt-Universitat zu Berlin, 1995-2000
Susanne Zantop, Dartmouth College, 1995-1998
Gisela Ecker, Universität-Gesamthochschule-Paderborn, 1992-1997
Anna K. Kuhn, University of California Davis, 1992-1997
Elke Frederiksen, University of Maryland, College Park,1992-1994
Edith Waldstein, Wartburg College, 1992-1994