Conference Registration Is Open

We are pleased to announce that registration for the 2015 Women in German conference is now open! You can find the draft program, site information, and links to the registration form and housing here: Please be aware that the early bird rate ends on July 15, earlier than in previous years.

Winners of the 2015 Graduate Student Membership Lottery

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 free graduate student membership lottery!

Emily Gessmann, U Illinois, Chicago
Carly Lesoski, Michigan State University
Emma Kriss, Indiana University
Michelle Dietz, University of Cincinnati
Melissa Elliot, Wayne State University
Lydia Heiss, University of Arizona
Christina Schultz, U Illinois, Chicago
Anna-Rebecca Nowicki, Wash. University, St. Louis
Laura Isakov, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
Julia Koxholt, U Illinois, Chicago

WiG's 40th Annual Conference in Banff!!

NEW this year: Register EARLY for conference PLEASE! 

Click here to see the Calls for Papers for the 2015 Conference

Click here to view the Conference information page

New Issue of the Newsletter

The summer 2014 issue of the Newsletter is out!

Please note that the newest issue of the Newsletter is always password protected and accessible only to current members of WiG. To view the the Newsletter (posted right below this message), you must log in to the website. Do you need help getting the login information? If so, contact

Smith-Prei Selected As WiG Yearbook Co-editor

Carrie Smith-Prei has been selected as the new coeditor of the Women in German Yearbook. Carrie, who is Associate Professor of German Studies at the University of Alberta, Canada, will bring considerable editing experience, a substantial publishing record, and a strong vision to the position. She will assume her responsibilities at the annual conference in October 2014, joining Elizabeth Ametsbichler, University of Montana, continuing coeditor of the Yearbook. Carrie will replace Margarete Lamb-Faffelberger, Lafayette College.

Vice Presidential Election Announcement

The Steering Committee is pleased to announce the results of the recent election for Vice President/President Elect of Women in German.

Beth Ann Muellner, Associate Professor of German at the College of Wooster has been elected. She will assume her role at the annual conference in October. 

We would like to express our gratitude to Patricia Simpson and Beth for their willingness to let their names stand for election and our thanks to all the WiG members who voted.


Nicole Grewling and Jennifer Askey

2014 WiG Free Graduate Student Membership Winners

Congratulations to these new WiGgies!

The Latest Women in German Yearbook

Check out the latest WiG 2013 Yearbook Table of Contents (29)!

2015 Best Article Prize Winners

Congratulations to Carrie Smith-Prei and Maria Stehle!

Time to Nominate WiG Dissertations!

It is time to nominate dissertations and solicit submissions for the WiG Dissertation Prize. Please download the updated Protocol for the Dissertation Prize Committee.


Subscribe to Coalition of Women in German - WiG RSS